Pelicans Report

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: The new $2B/yr TV deal could raise the NBA salary cap by nearly $16mil

The new $2B/yr TV deal could raise the NBA salary cap by nearly $16mil

http://www.sbnation.com/nba/2014/9/8...th-espn-turner

So does mean when this starts we'll have Jrue/Tyreke/??/AD/Asik all on salary. Assuming Asik is making 11 mil and ad has max we'll still have max cap available?

1-6

AD has 2 more years, this will happen before he gets his max, allowing us to give someone else a max and then also give ad the max the following year.

question is are their any SF's worth the max this offseason? LeBron if he opts out of his 1st year player option.

lebron
    kevin love
    kawhi leonard
    lamarcus alridge
    marc gasol

smaller deals for people like

kenneth farried
    draymond green
    gerald green
    nikola vucevic
    jimmy butler
    paul millsap
    jeff green
    al jefferson
    deandre jordan
    rudy gay

I'm far from an expert but I think you have to start with AD's contract. As a (designated?) max player, he'll command at least 25% of the team's salary cap. But if he reaches certain incentives he can get as much as 30% of the team's cap. To me, the question is timing. Does he get 25% of the current cap or does he get 25% of the increased cap?

Quote Originally Posted by Tomdda View Post
    I'm far from an expert but I think you have to start with AD's contract. As a (designated?) max player, he'll command at least 25% of the team's salary cap. But if he reaches certain incentives he can get as much as 30% of the team's cap. To me, the question is timing. Does he get 25% of the current cap or does he get 25% of the increased cap?
    i believe since we drafted him we have his bird rights so we can go over the cap resigning him. We need to sign a big name before we re-sign him.

So you can expect a bump in your cable bill.
    If you Jimmer it, they will come.