.
Pelicans Report
 
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Xbos 360 DVD Drive replacement

  1. #1
    Fire Monty!! Contributor AD23forMVP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    13,941

    Xbos 360 DVD Drive replacement

    I took apart my xbox today and am planning on just replacing the DVD Drive inside of it.

    But now I'm reading that the drive needs the "firmware to be flashed" before it will play games. What the heck does that mean? Can you not just plug the two little cords back in and go?
    PelicansReport.com Sim League
    New Orleans Hornets General Manager

  2. #2
    Pistol Pete Would Be Proud!! LoCo89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    3,406
    Quote Originally Posted by AD23forMVP View Post
    I took apart my xbox today and am planning on just replacing the DVD Drive inside of it.

    But now I'm reading that the drive needs the "firmware to be flashed" before it will play games. What the heck does that mean? Can you not just plug the two little cords back in and go?
    I'm at work right now, so can't help much. But "flashing" is just updating it. So you're probably going to have to hook it up to a computer first to update it to the latest firmware.
    HR SIM LEAGUE: MEMPHIS GRIZZLIES


    Mod over at reddit.com/r/NOLAPelicans

  3. #3
    The Mad Titan    Contributor   
    BallSoHard's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    14,067

    Xbos 360 DVD Drive replacement

    It says to sim the first FA period please

  4. #4
    Pistol Pete Would Be Proud!! LoCo89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    3,406
    Quote Originally Posted by BallSoHard View Post
    It says to sim the first FA period please
    NOOOOO!! lol I've still got hours

  5. #5
    Fire Monty!! Contributor AD23forMVP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    13,941
    Quote Originally Posted by LoCo89 View Post
    I'm at work right now, so can't help much. But "flashing" is just updating it. So you're probably going to have to hook it up to a computer first to update it to the latest firmware.
    How do you hook it up to a computer?

  6. #6
    The Mad Titan    Contributor   
    BallSoHard's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    14,067

    Xbos 360 DVD Drive replacement

    Quote Originally Posted by LoCo89 View Post
    NOOOOO!! lol I've still got hours
    Lol the deadline passed you damn grizzly!

  7. #7
    The Mad Titan    Contributor   
    BallSoHard's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    14,067

    Xbos 360 DVD Drive replacement

    Quote Originally Posted by AD23forMVP View Post
    How do you hook it up to a computer?
    I thought it connects to the motherboard unless its an external?

  8. #8
    Fire Monty!! Contributor AD23forMVP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    13,941
    Quote Originally Posted by BallSoHard View Post
    I thought it connects to the motherboard unless its an external?
    That's what I thought too. I thought you'd just plug in those two cords and it would work, but I keep reading this flash thing.

    And did I set a deadline? I wasn't planning on doing the sim until tonight because I'm still getting offers.

  9. #9
    Pistol Pete Would Be Proud!! LoCo89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    3,406
    Lol no you didn't. I just checked..

    I think my brother replaced the DVD drive on his and ill see if I can get some directions for it. I've only taken apart computers, so not entirely sure if the process would be the same

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •